CURL, CURL, BABY

Bally’s Creative Director Rhuigi Villaseñor fused Alpine sporting tradition with Western Americana for the “Bally Curling” capsule collection. The scene: St. Moritz.

by Fabrizio D'Aloisio

Tuesday, December 20, 2022

St. Moritz is the birthplace of curling in Switzerland; curling was played here for the first time as early as 1880. Like a giant game of boules on ice, today curling is a favorite winter pastime for men and women alike and comes with its own icon: the BALLY Curling Boot that has become a house staple since gracing the feet of the Swiss Olympic team at Cortina d’Ampezzo in 1956.

The distinctive après-ski style, with its cocooning rubber sole and toe reinforced with Arctic Grip® technology, has evolved over the decades as a stylish, versatile and hard- wearing shoe for all seasons. Reinventing the curling shoe as a part of a fully-fledged Ready-to-Wear and accessories vision, the capsule is inspired by the visual clash of Swiss alpine tradition with both cowboy and varsity codes. In an irreverent twist, Villaseñor, an LA native, harnesses the playful spirit of the American West and applies it to the tenets of winter sports, creating a new transatlantic dialogue of decoration and materiality.

Encapsulated in “Curl Curl Baby”, an irreverent short film following the curling battle of two opposing teams, the capsule’s luxurious, graphic spirit comes to life against the arresting scenery of St. Moritz. From transitional options to high-season winter wares, BALLY CURLING embraces the luxuriant ambience of après-ski, with mix-and-match ensembles that fuse Western detailing and nostalgic mountaineering motifs with refined natural materials like cashmere, shearling and suede.

In partnership with the St. Moritz brand, Swiss-inspired collegiate prints and embroideries enriched with archival BALLY graphics create iconic heritage moments, whilst shearling-trimmed denim and Western quilted outerwear express Villaseñor’s tongue-in-cheek sense of Americana. Complementing the core curling designs, a bold accessories line includes playful hybrids: a cowboy hat in shearling or baseball cap in soft wool and suede, cocooning jacquard blankets with leather accents, pom pom beanies and plush “Switzerland” football scarves — engineered with BALLY craftsmanship for the streets and the slopes in equal measure.

The “Bally Curling” capsule collection is available at Bally St. Moritz, Via Maistra 16.

Director and photographer: Marie Schuller
Stylist: Imruh Asha

00.00.0000 00:00

Lake St. Moritz is open for ice skating, skate hire available on site.The Cresta Run is open.The Olympia Bob Run St. Moritz-Celerina is open, guest rides can be booked on this website in the shop.

CURL, CURL, BABY

Der Kreativdirektor von Bally, Rhuigi Villaseñor, hat für die «Bally Curling»-Kollektion alpine Sporttraditionen mit amerikanischem Westernflair verschmolzen. Der Schauplatz: St. Moritz.

by Fabrizio D'Aloisio

Dienstag, 20. Dezember 2022

St. Moritz ist der Geburtsort des Curlings in der Schweiz; bereits 1880 wurde hier zum ersten Mal Curling gespielt. Wie ein riesiges Boule-Spiel auf dem Eis ist Curling heute ein beliebter Winterspass für Männer und Frauen und hat sein eigenes Symbol: Den BALLY-Curling-Stiefel, der zu einem festen Bestandteil des Hauses geworden ist, seit er 1956 die Füsse der Schweizer Olympiamannschaft in Cortina d'Ampezzo zierte.

Der unverwechselbare Après-Ski-Stil mit seiner dämpfenden Gummisohle und der mit der Arctic Grip®-Technologie verstärkten Schuhspitze hat sich im Laufe der Jahrzehnte zu einem stilvollen, vielseitigen und strapazierfähigen Schuh für alle Jahreszeiten entwickelt. Die Neuinterpretation des Curling-Schuhs als Teil einer vollwertigen Ready-to-Wear- und Accessoire-Vision ist inspiriert vom visuellen Aufeinandertreffen der Schweizer Alpintradition mit Cowboy- und Varsity-Codes. Villaseñor, der aus LA stammt, macht sich den spielerischen Geist des amerikanischen Westens zunutze und wendet ihn auf die Grundsätze des Wintersports an, um einen neuen transatlantischen Dialog über Dekoration und Materialität zu schaffen.

In "Curl Curl Baby", einem Kurzfilm, der den Curling-Kampf zweier gegnerischer Teams zeigt, wird der luxuriöse, grafische Geist der Kollektion vor der beeindruckenden Kulisse von St. Moritz zum Leben erweckt. BALLY CURLING ist eine Kollektion für die Übergangszeit und die Wintersaison, die das luxuriöse Ambiente des Après-Skis aufgreift, mit Mix-and-Match-Ensembles, die Western-Details und nostalgische Bergsteigermotive mit raffinierten Naturmaterialien wie Kaschmir, Shearling und Wildleder verbinden.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Marke St. Moritz sorgen von der Schweiz inspirierte College-Prints und Stickereien, die mit archivierten BALLY Grafiken angereichert sind, für ikonische Momente, während Denim mit Scherenbesatz und gesteppte Western-Oberbekleidung Villaseñors augenzwinkernden Sinn für Americana zum Ausdruck bringen. Ergänzend zu den Curling-Kerndesigns gibt es eine mutige Accessoire-Linie mit verspielten Hybriden: ein Cowboyhut aus Shearling oder eine Baseballmütze aus weicher Wolle und Wildleder, kuschelige Jacquard-Decken mit Lederakzenten, Bommelmützen und plüschige "Switzerland"-Fussballschals – mit BALLY-Handwerkskunst gleichermassen für die Strasse und die Piste entwickelt.

Die "Bally Curling" Capsule Collection ist bei Bally St. Moritz, Via Maistra 16, erhältlich.

Regisseur und Fotograf: Marie Schuller
Stylist: Imruh Asha

00.00.0000 00:00

Der St. Moritzersee ist für das Eislaufen geöffnet, Schlittschuhverleih vor Ort möglich.Der Cresta Run ist in Betrieb.Der Olympia Bob Run St. Moritz-Celerina ist ebenfalls geöffnet, Gästefahrten sind im Shop buchbar.