The heart of the Museum Engiadinais, with its 21 exhibition rooms, are historical interiors from five centuries: panelled rooms from the Engadine and the neighbouring regions, a stateroom from Valtellina, a grand kitchen, and a bedroom.
The renowned architect N. Hartmann (1880-1956) built the structure in 1906 specifically for this collection. The building is designed with the traditional Engadine house in mind and was specially laid out for the five centuries of interiors and furnishings. Thus, the Museum Engiadinais can be seen as an artistic synthesis. Its renovation in 2016 allowed it to set up additional collections and a permanent exhibition on the Romansh language. The e-guide tells the stories and is included in the cost of admission.
The museum also shows quaintly presented selected items from Riet Campbell’s first-rate collection of everyday objects, such as chests, strongboxes, weapons, smoking materials, watches, jewellery, and other things.
The Romansh language is part of the culture and history of the Engadine. Around a hundred years ago, it was on the wane, which is why committed supporters campaigned for its preservation. In 1938, in a federal referendum, Romansh was recognised as the country’s fourth official language. The Romansh language, with its various idioms, is still alive today. In the e-guide, visitors can play a variety of audio samples.
The permanent exhibition is usually supplemented by a special exhibition.
Thursday – Sunday, 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Summer: May 26 – October 23
Winter: December 1 – April 10
Please note the opening hours on public holidays
Cost of admission
CHF 15.00 / CHF 10.00 iIncluding e-guide in 7 languages
Children and adolescents up to 17 years free of charge