Open Doors Engadin - Cresta Run Clubhouse

29 June 2024 - 30 June 2024

29 June 2024

14:00 - 14:45

29 June 2024

15:00 - 15:45

29 June 2024

16:00 - 16:45
Cresta Run Clubhouse, Via Ruinatsch 9, St. Moritz

Architecture walk - open doors in the Engadin and Bergell

The clubhouse for the St. Moritz Tobogganing Club (Cresta Run) was built and completed in 1962. The architect of the main building was Annibale Fiocchi (1915-2011), best known for the Olivetti headquarters in Milan. The St. Moritz Tobogganing Club was founded in 1885. Before the facility was built, the club was housed in simple, artisanal wooden structures along the track. The connecting structure was built in the 1990s by local architect Heinz Reber. The Cresta run itself was built in 1884 and is made of natural ice every winter. Nestled into the hillside, the clubhouse is built in typical Art Deco style, with rounded corners and a 180-degree band of windows that offer excellent views of the track. It is topped off with a flat roof that serves as a terrace for spectators. The ground floor contains changing rooms, while the first floor houses a bar, office and shop for members and riders. Above the building rises the iconic tower from which the race is controlled and which offers unobstructed views of the valley and surrounding area. Subtle interior renovations were later carried out by Matteo Thun. The construction is mainly made of concrete and brickwork and is painted white with additional elements in the club colours of maroon and gold. Access to the clubhouse is from the Junction Hut via a connecting bridge that frames the Junction start area.

With Martin Greenland, CEO St Moritz Tobogganing Club

Topic: Architecture and the history of the club

Meeting point: outside the clubhouse, Junction Hut

00.00.0000 00:00

The newest issue of St. Moritz – Views from the Top is available at the Tourist Office and online!Spring in St. Moritz – warm sunshine, birds chirping and flower meadows.Inspiration for Spring?