St. Moritz Art Film Festival

Dates
12 September 2024 - 15 September 2024

12 September 2024

all day

13 September 2024

all day

14 September 2024

all day
Ort
Cinema Scala, Via Maistra 29, St. Moritz

SHOW MORE
The St. Moritz Art Film Festival (SMAFF) organizes a cinema and audiovisual festival in St. Moritz and the Engadin Valley and promotes the dissemination of cinema, art and audiovisual culture cantonally, nationally and internationally.

After the themes Face-to-Face (about Portraiture) and Becoming-Landscape (about Space), the third edition of SMAFF focuses on the notion of Time. In fact, the common understanding of TIME is associated with History, which is perceived as a linear succession of one thing after another.

But Time is an overlapping of multiple events and experiences that occur simultaneously.

There are always multiple sides to events and occurrences. However, the dominant historical perspective often cancels the multiplicity in favour of a linear understanding of events. What remains is always set by the main narrative, which has the ability to shape and control how history is remembered, what is neglected and silenced, and crucially, what history is passed to future generations.

In order to approach minor or forgotten histories, perhaps it would be helpful to think of alternative temporalities in terms of ‘meanwhile’. When we read the dominant history, we have to think about what else was happening ‘meanwhile’.

With the theme Meanwhile Histories comes the opportunity to challenge the dominant narratives and perspectives that have shaped our understanding of history. By acknowledging the existence of parallel histories and alternative temporalities, we can uncover the stories and experiences that have been overlooked or silenced.

Screenings, talks and panel sessions are organised around the theme of conflicting temporalities: history, memory, iteration, obsolescence, ownership, transmission, and material decay.

Topics included the problematics of original and copy in the case of iterative works; the time-based or event-like nature of the unique versus the replicated object in that context; the definition of memory as a concept or value given technologies of replication; models of collaborative recording and paperwork—how contracts, working drawings, certificates, and the like serve as representations of objects and ideas.

Exploring Meanwhile Histories allows us to consider personal accounts, marginalized archives and neglected memories, providing a more comprehensive and accurate account of reality. It invites us to question who has been given the power to shape history and whose voices have been suppressed.

Furthermore, alternative histories not only offer us a deeper understanding of the past, but they also have the potential to shape our future. By recognizing and amplifying the experiences of marginalized groups such as black communities, women, L.G.B.T. individuals, and the environment, we can challenge the inequalities and injustices that persist in our society today.

In essence, Meanwhile Histories encourages us to engage with a multiplicity of perspectives and imagine a more inclusive and equitable future. They allow us to navigate beyond the limitations of linear historical narratives and embrace the complexity and diversity of human experiences. By striving to discover “what else was happening meanwhile,” we can gain a more complete understanding of our shared reality and actively contribute to reshaping our collective memory.

The Jury changes every year, is composed of international members and according to the annual topic. The Jury for the 2024 edition is composed of: Luciano Rigolini, Natalia Sielewicz and Chomwan Weeraworawit Huang.

live
00.00.0000 00:00

The newest issue of St. Moritz – Views from the Top is available at the Tourist Office and online!Summeritz! Let's enjoy summer in St. Moritz together!In need for summer inspiration? Look no further than here. FYI: St. Moritz has a fireworks ban!

St. Moritz Art Film Festival

Daten
12. September 2024 - 15. September 2024

12. September 2024

ganzer Tag

13. September 2024

ganzer Tag

14. September 2024

ganzer Tag
Ort
Cinema Scala, Via Maistra 29, St. Moritz

MEHR ANZEIGEN
Der St. Moritz Art Film Festival (SMAFF) organisiert ein Kino- und Audiovisuelles Festival in St. Moritz und dem Engadin-Tal und fördert die Verbreitung von Kino, Kunst und audiovisueller Kultur kantonal, national und international.

Nach den Themen Face-to-Face (über Porträtkunst) und Becoming-Landscape (über Raum) konzentriert sich die dritte Ausgabe des SMAFF auf den Begriff der Zeit. Tatsächlich wird das allgemeine Verständnis von Zeit mit Geschichte in Verbindung gebracht, die als lineare Abfolge von Ereignissen wahrgenommen wird.

Doch Zeit ist ein Überlappen mehrerer Ereignisse und Erfahrungen, die gleichzeitig stattfinden.

Ereignisse und Vorkommnisse haben immer mehrere Seiten. Die dominierende historische Perspektive löscht jedoch oft diese Vielfalt zugunsten eines linearen Verständnisses von Ereignissen aus. Was bleibt, wird stets von der Hauptnarrative bestimmt, die die Fähigkeit hat, zu formen und zu kontrollieren, wie Geschichte erinnert wird, was vernachlässigt und verschwiegen wird und vor allem, welche Geschichte zukünftigen Generationen überliefert wird.

Um sich kleineren oder vergessenen Geschichten zu nähern, wäre es vielleicht hilfreich, alternative Zeitlichkeiten im Sinne von ‚inzwischen‘ zu betrachten. Wenn wir die dominierende Geschichte lesen, müssen wir daran denken, was ‚inzwischen‘ sonst noch geschah.

Mit dem Thema „Meanwhile Histories“ bietet sich die Möglichkeit, die dominierenden Erzählungen und Perspektiven, die unser Geschichtsverständnis geprägt haben, herauszufordern. Durch die Anerkennung paralleler Geschichten und alternativer Zeitlichkeiten können wir die Geschichten und Erfahrungen aufdecken, die übersehen oder zum Schweigen gebracht wurden.

Vorführungen, Vorträge und Podiumsdiskussionen sind um das Thema widersprüchlicher Zeitlichkeiten organisiert: Geschichte, Erinnerung, Iteration, Veralterung, Besitz, Übertragung und materieller Verfall.

Themen umfassen die Problematik von Original und Kopie bei iterativen Werken; die zeitbasierte oder ereignisähnliche Natur des einzigartigen versus des replizierten Objekts in diesem Kontext; die Definition von Erinnerung als Konzept oder Wert angesichts der Replikationstechnologien; Modelle der kollaborativen Aufzeichnung und Dokumentation – wie Verträge, Arbeitszeichnungen, Zertifikate und Ähnliches als Darstellungen von Objekten und Ideen dienen.

Das Erkunden von „Meanwhile Histories“ ermöglicht es uns, persönliche Berichte, marginalisierte Archive und vernachlässigte Erinnerungen zu betrachten und eine umfassendere und genauere Darstellung der Realität zu bieten. Es lädt uns dazu ein, zu hinterfragen, wer die Macht hatte, die Geschichte zu formen, und wessen Stimmen unterdrückt wurden.

Darüber hinaus bieten alternative Geschichten nicht nur ein tieferes Verständnis der Vergangenheit, sondern haben auch das Potenzial, unsere Zukunft zu gestalten. Indem wir die Erfahrungen marginalisierter Gruppen wie schwarzer Gemeinschaften, Frauen, L.G.B.T.-Individuen und der Umwelt anerkennen und verstärken, können wir die Ungleichheiten und Ungerechtigkeiten, die in unserer Gesellschaft heute bestehen, herausfordern.

Im Wesentlichen ermutigen uns „Meanwhile Histories“ dazu, uns mit einer Vielzahl von Perspektiven auseinanderzusetzen und eine inklusivere und gerechtere Zukunft zu imaginieren. Sie ermöglichen es uns, über die Grenzen linearer historischer Erzählungen hinauszugehen und die Komplexität und Vielfalt menschlicher Erfahrungen zu umarmen. Indem wir danach streben, „was sonst noch inzwischen geschah“, zu entdecken, können wir ein umfassenderes Verständnis unserer gemeinsamen Realität gewinnen und aktiv dazu beitragen, unser kollektives Gedächtnis neu zu gestalten.

Die Jury wechselt jedes Jahr, setzt sich aus internationalen Mitgliedern zusammen und richtet sich nach dem Jahresthema. Die Jury für die Ausgabe 2024 ist wie folgt zusammengesetzt: Luciano Rigolini, Natalia Sielewicz, Chomwan Weeraworawit Huang.

live
00.00.0000 00:00

Die neuste Ausgabe des Magazins «St. Moritz – Views from the Top» ist im Tourist Office und online erhältlich.Summeritz! Geniessen wir den St. Moritzer Sommer zusammen!Inspiration für den Sommer gefällig? Hier entlang! Aufgepasst: in St. Moritz gilt ein Feuerwerksverbot!